We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Hexham Branch

The Hexham Branch covers the area of the Parliamentary constituency of Hexham and includes the towns of Hexham, Prudhoe, Ponteland, Haltwhistle and Bellingham.


Hexham East
Suzanne Fairless-Aitken (Copyright Chrissie Iliffe)

Dr. Suzanne Fairless-Aitken is Town and County Councillor for Hexham East.

Suzanne was born in Kenton Bar, Newcastle Upon Tyne. She says: 'I have lived and worked in Hexham since 2003, and absolutely love it here. I am a working mum and freelance editor. Both my children attend local schools, and I believe in the importance of education to end social inequalities, and also in protecting the environment - the consequences of which affects everything.

I have been involved in and led many campaigns in Tynedale - for example against austerity cuts and against KS1 SATs, and to stop the deletion of Hexham Green Belt in 2016. I am also involved with local environmental groups including Hexham Climate Action. I was one of the Tynedale 'STARS' campaign team who helped save our rural first and middle schools during the NCC consultation in 2018, and secured the much-needed redevelopment of Queen Elizabeth High School.

I am currently working with the Hexham Kids Bank distributing clothes and essentials to families in need across Tynedale, which is being expanded into a family charity that deals with child poverty and domestic abuse issues.'

Hadrian Ward

Alan Sharp is County Councillor for Haydon and Hadrian Ward Cllr Alan Sharp